Goals for 2015

Like most people, I am great at setting New Year’s resolutions — and then great at breaking them.

83ca006bfd94e2a1b42da0033c5206e5

That’s why this year, I was a little over it. I’m tired of setting goals that are either unattainable for my lifestyle or aren’t accomplishments I want enough to change my lifestyle for the sake of reaching them.

I’m tired of setting up expectations and then forgetting about them and beating myself up.

The entire concept of New Year’s resolutions is so terribly all-or-nothing. And I’m not a $1,000 in the bank or $0 in the bank kind of girl. I’m okay at the $500 mark.

I also am more drawn to the spirit of setting intentions than to the rigidness of goal-setting. Don’t get me wrong, measured goals have their time and place. It may just be my current season of life talking, but I’d rather live in the mindset of, “I want to be more present, hopeful, and loving and will forgive myself when I forget,” than “I just lost my temper. There goes my New Year’s resolution. Screw it all.”

So, that’s why I’m not setting large, grand, “I’m-not-eating-sugar-for-365-days” kind of goals.

767c3f2c8aac98a3aafe6f5d59f2809c

(Excuse my sense of humor today. My brain might still be on vacation.)

So, in light of all that, here are the goals I have for this year. And trust me, I didn’t brainstorm more goals just to have something to write about here.

  1. Complete my yoga teacher training and become yoga-alliance certified. I’ve been on this journey since October, and am confident in the completion of this goal.
  2. Run the Lincoln half-marathon. (It sold out in 7 hours this year! Whew!) I woke up at 4 in the morning to register for this because a bunch of us at work want to run together. Much as I love the thought, and even though I could easily run 10 miles at a time 3 years ago . . . I am terrified. I have not run in 6 months. Nevertheless. I spent $60 to register. So we’re doing this thing.
  3. Make a DIY canopy for my bed. If I want to be married in the next few years, I might as well fulfill this childhood wish now before I  have a husband to combat. I’m rather partial to the curtains just over the headboard. This post has collected a lot of awesome methods.

52556237dbfa3f0d96000877._w.540_h.600_s.fit_

52556236dbfa3f0db400090e._w.540_h.652_s.fit_

Honestly . . . those are my goals. I can’t decide if I’m proud of myself for this tiny list, or if I’m hopelessly lame. . . . Maybe both. 🙂

Do you make New Year’s resolutions?

xoxo

2 thoughts on “Goals for 2015

  1. WHOA I love those diy bed canopies!!! I dunno if mike would be into it but I would love having something like that, hah! I saw an article somewhere that used those gauzey curtains hanging behind the headboard with white christmas lights behind the curtains. I’m probably describing it terribly but it looked really cool!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

