POETRY: Tanka Series, Week 4

tanka4

“The oak sloughs
its dead weight:
born again. Perhaps I also
can wring my heart
to bloom anew.”

~Addison Taylor

 

With the new year upon us, I can’t think of a more appropriately timed tanka for this series. The universe knew I would need to be reminded of this lesson at just this time.

I have many changes ahead of me in January: new job title, new apartment, newly single (again).

It is all dead weight sloughed.

It is all to wring my heart. It is all for the purpose of blooming anew.

xoxo

Leave a Reply

