POETRY: Tanka Series, Week 2

Who’s ready for Friday? (This girl.) Who’s ready for poetry? (Always.)

Tanka series, week two, coming at you. 🙂

Tankas characteristically draw parallels from nature, with a surprise in the last line or two lines.

Surprising the reader at the end of a poem is one of my favorite techniques. I rack my brain for weeks on end when I’m finishing a poem. I always want a good punch at the end. The poems I love the most are the ones that give me a small gasp of awe.

Some punches are better than others, but I particularly like this one, in the second tanka I ever wrote. I used to get so frustrated with boys who only liked the chase. Who maybe didn’t really like me, but liked the hard-to-get part of me. So, as with all things that bother me, I wrote a poem about it.

tanka2

You are the first
firefly of spring:
blinking, beckoning–
disappearing
when I come.

–Addison Taylor, © 2013

Leave a Reply

